Tags

, , ,

Johann Joachim Schwabe (born 29 September 1714 in Magdeburg, † 12 August 1784 in Leipzig) was a German scholar, librarian, philosopher and translator.

Schwabe taught in Leipzig and was a member of the Royal Prussian Academy of Sciences. As an avid student of Johann Christoph Gottsched, he transferred at his advice the works of Jonathan Swift to the German conditions (1734).
He published the “Belustigungen des Verstandes und des Witzes” (entertainments of the mind and wit), one of the most important and critical belletristic journals in the Age of Enlightenment, which was published from 1741 to 1745. From this journal the following passage is taken. Again we find the very prominent fencing guilds in common literature even in the midst of the 18th century.

Die Begierde mich noch ln meinen alten Tagen berühmt zu machen war die erste Triebfeder dazu. Ich hörte der Ostermesse so viel von der Tapferkeit des Herrn Conrector Erlenbachs wider einiger Schriftsteller, die er Klopffechter genannt, reden, daß mich dieses nicht wenig reizte mein Heil wider ihn zu versuchen.

Stimulos dedit aemula virtus Lucan, L.I.

Ich hielt ihn selbst für einen Klopfechter weil er sich mit solchen Leuten abgäbe. Nun wußte ich zwar nicht nicht zu welcher Art von diesen Kämpfern ich ihn rechnen sollte und ob er ein Marcusbruder oder ein Lucasbruder oder auch nur ein gemeiner Federfechter wäre. Dieses letzte kam mir am glaublichsten vor, und da ich von einem Marcusbruder ehemals versichert worden, daß die Federfechter in der ritterlichen Kunst des Fechtens den untersten Grad hätten und keine öffentliche Schule halten dürften, wenn Marcus oder Lucasbrüder vorhanden waren. So hoffte ich ihn noch wohl von der Schule schlagen zu können. Das ist der Weg, dachte ich bey mir selbst, dadurch du kannst in der gelehrten Welt noch berühmt werden. Vermutlich wird er dir Stand halten wenn du auf ihn los gehst. Ich fühlte daß ich Herz genug hatte, die Ehre auch mit meinem Tode zu erkaufen, wenn es ja seyn müßte.

“The desire to make myself famous in my old days was the prime incitement to do so. I heard at the Easter Mass so much of the valor of the Conrector Erlenbachs talking against certain writers, whom he called Klopffechter, that it appealed not only a little to me to try my luck against him.

Stimulos dedit aemula virtus (He was spurred on by rival valor), Lucan, L.I.

I held him for one of those Klopffechter because he surrounded himself with such people. Well I did not no what kind of fighter  I should expect of him and if he were a Marxbruder, or a Lucasbruder or even a common Federfechter. The latter seemed very probably, and since I have confirmation from a former Marxbruder that the Federfechter had the lowest level in the knightly arts of fencing, are not allowed to hold any public school if no Marxbruder or Lucasbruder were present. 

So I was hoping to be able to beat him out of school. That’s the way I thought by myself, that way you can get famous in the scientific world. Presumably, he’ll bear up when I’ll be coming against him. I felt that I had heart enough to buy the honor with my death, if indeed it would be necessary.”

Books used in this article:
Belustigungen der Verstandes und des Witzes, Teil 2, Johann Joachim Schwabe, B.C. Breitkopf, 1742 (Link